Personal tools
Document Actions

Professor Randy Allemang Wins FSAE Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup

Professor Randy Allemang Wins FSAE Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup

Professor Randy Allemang - 2018 FSAE Mentor's Cup Winner


Bearcat Motorsports is proud to announce that Faculty Advisor Randall Allemang was recognized as the winner of the Carroll Smith Mentor’s Cup at Saturday evening’s 2018 FSAE® Award’s Ceremony. Professor Allemang was only the 19th FSAE® faculty advisor to be associated with this award in what is now an annual recognition for outstanding FSAE® faculty advisors.  The CEAS News article is here.

The Carroll Smith Mentor’s Cup is the most prestigious of all awards made by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE®) to faculty advisors in the Formula SAE® competition and is sponsored by the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA®). The complete 2018 Award’s Ceremony can be viewed at

Professor Allemang has served as the UC Bearcat Motorsports Faculty Advisor for the past 16 years. His nomination letter noted many qualities that are representative of Mentor’s Cup Awardees, notably “...the team is almost entirely student-run”, “...always available”, “...devil’s advocate”, “...encourages ...sets goals ...challenges decisions ...builds bonds”, “ continually in the background”, “...stays informed”, and “...opened the door.”

Background - Carroll Smith and the Mentor’s Cup Award:

Carroll Smith was a trained engineer, Navy pilot, racecar driver, and author. He authored six books on racecar engineering and most faculty advisors and students participating in the Formula SAE® Collegiate Design Series Competition have read and used these books as references.
For ten years he served as chief design judge for FSAE® and raised it to one of the most prestigious events at the competition. In Australia, he started wearing a slash hat that became his trademark, and now all of the chief design judges wear an Australian hat in his honor and memory. He died at his home in California during the time of the 2003 FSAE® competition.

Carroll was very free to share his knowledge and wanted everyone to learn. He was the consummate mentor. Being the chief design judge was a perfect opportunity for him to mentor these developing engineers. It is this quality that inspired the Sports Car Club of America to institute the Carroll Smith Mentor’s Cup in his honor.
The highest award that can be earned by any Formula SAE® advisor, the Carroll Smith Mentor's Cup recognizes extraordinary levels of personal time and expertise given to engineering education and the ability to serve as an exceptional role model for students. All FSAE® faculty advisors who have been recognized by the Mentor’s Cup provide long term continuity to their Team, create a positive and encouraging environment, are active in the Team’s technical, organizational and management challenges, uphold the student-run character of the Team and provide a professional role model. Students who have graduated from a Formula SAE Team are eligible to nominate their faculty advisor for the Award.

The recipient of this award is a person that has shown long-term commitment of mentoring to FSAE® students. With this award goes a check for $1500 from the SCCA Foundation, a beautifully engraved keeper cup, and his name is engraved on the perpetual cup, kept at SCCA headquarters in Topeka, Kansas.

Past Mentor’s Cup Award Recipients:

1999. Dr. Bob Woods, University of Texas at Arlington
2000. Dr. Al George, Cornell University
2001. Dr. Andrew Deakin, Leeds University
2002. Dr. Ken Cunefare, Georgia Tech
2003. Dr. Alan Nye, Rochester Institute of Technology
2004. Dr. Dick Gross, Akron University
2005. Dr. Make McDermott, Texas A&M University
2006. Dr. Peter Jones, Auburn University
2007. Dr. Dan Dolan, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
2008. Dr. Gary Cloud, Michigan State University
2009. Dr. Robert Sorem, University of Kansas
2010. Mr. Doug Fraser, Dartmouth College
2011. Dr. Robert Paasch, Oregon State University
2012. Dr. Sergio Diaz, Universidad Simon Bolivar
2013. Dr. Byam Brooks, Saginaw State University
2014. Dr. John Russell, University of New Mexico
2015. Dr. Craig Hoff, Kettering University
2016. Dr. Len Hamilton, University of Maryland and U.S. Naval Academy
2017. Mr. Cliff Stover, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona