Personal tools
Document Actions

Bearcat Motorsports (UC FSAE Team) finish 40th in Michigan Race!

Bearcat Motorsports (UC FSAE Team) finish 40th in Michigan Race!

Bearcat Motorsports Team 2018

Bearcat Motorsports, the University of Cincinnati Formula SAE® Team, again finished, and scored points, in all competition events, winding up in 40th place in the Overall Standings in the Formula SAE® East Competition out of 114 Teams that competed.

The 2018 Formula SAE® East Competition, held at the Michigan International Speedway this past week (May 8-12, 2018), was won by the University of Stuttgart followed by the Technical University of Graz (Austria). The highest placing US team was the University of Akron in 6th Place followed by the University of Wisconsin (Madison) and the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor), the only three US Teams in the Top Ten. Official results can be found online ( events/fsae/michigan/fsae_mi_2018_result.pdf ). Bearcat Motorsports will be competing in the remaining US race at Lincoln, NE Airpark on June 19-23, 2018.

Bearcat Motorsports ( ) is the UC Academic Intercollegiate Competition (AIC) student group that participates in Formula SAE® (FSAE®), a collegiate design competition sponsored by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE®) and supported by all of the major automotive companies and suppliers. The competition involves the design, construction, and testing of an open-wheel, Formula One style racecar. The students are involved in design, cost analysis and sales/marketing presentations as well as static and driving competitions against other collegiate teams from all over the world over the four days of the competition.

This event is the first event of the US Formula SAE® Competition season and is the largest in the world, limited to 120 universities from all over the world. This year, 118 teams registered with 114 teams actually competing in the event. This year 102 teams successfully completed the Technical Inspection and were allowed to compete in the driving events. Bearcat Motorsports will compete with a mostly undergraduate team in the remaining race event this year in the US since the availability of the Seniors on the Team is limited by graduation and the academic calendar. The remaining US race event, the Formula SAE® West Competition, will be held June 19-23, 2018 in Lincoln, Nebraska (80 universities). Currently, there are other affiliated Formula SAE or Formula Student Competitions in Canada, England, Germany, Italy, Australia, Japan and Brazil.
Bearcat Motorsports is partially supported by the University Funding Board, as one of several Academic Intercollegiate Competition (AIC/UFB) groups. Other funding comes from the Mechanical and Materials Engineering, the College of Engineering and Applied Science, the UC Structural Dynamics Research Lab along with numerous local industry partners and FSAE Alumni (Die Craft Machining and Engineering, Diehl Steel, GE Additive, Marathon, Machine Concepts, Makino, Millenium Metals, Mubea, Performance Electronics, Pivot Works, Texense, Tomak Precision, Valvoline, Full Throttle Indoor Karting, Spiegler, HMS Motorsport, Milspecwiring and Element Material Technologies).

This year’s Team is dominated by seven senior Mechanical Engineering students who earn class credit for participating in this activity. The Team Leader this year is Jacob Frisco who worked with a strong, but very small, Technical Committee to organize the activity and get things done on a schedule that began last August (2017) with the start of classes. The Technical Committee involved Specialty Team Leaders along with the Faculty Advisor. The Specialty Team Leaders are: Business and Drivetrain – Christian Lipa, Frame – Logan Korkotrax, Electrical – Will Imbus, Suspension – Matt Denlinger and Engine – Mohamed El-Sayed. The Driving Team included Matt Denlinger, Andrew Ditmer, Will Imbus and Brodie Hensler. The seven graduating Seniors contributed many long hours and depended upon a number of other undergraduate students, and FSAE® alumni, who volunteer their time when possible.

For more information, please contact Team Leader, Jacob Frisco ( or Faculty Advisor, Professor R.J. Allemang (